COMELEC releases list of candidates for the top posts in the Cordillera

BAGUIO CITY — The Commission on Election provincial offices released the list of individuals who filed their certificates of candidacy for the top posts in provinces and cities in the Cordillera region in the upcoming May midterm 2019 elections.
In the province of Abra, incumbent officials including Congressman Joseph Santo Nino Bernos, Governor Maria Jocelyn Valera-Bernos and Vice Gov. Ronald Balao-as try to win their second terms in office under the National Unity Party – Asenso.
Seares cousins, incumbent Dolores Mayor Robert Victor Seares Jr., of the Partido Demokratikong Pilipino Lakas ng Bayan (PDP-LABAN) and independent candidate Loreto Seares Jr. will run for Governo while Ana Marie Bersamin of the Nacionalist Party will run for vice governor.
For the congressional post, two ladies namely Victoria Corpus of the PDDS-DPP and independent candidate Derdrei Ifurung will run against JB Bernos.
In Benguet, incumbent Governor Crescencio Pacalso will run for his second term in office as an independent candidate against former Buguias Mayor Melchor Diclas who will run under the PDP-Laban and minister Alexander Tadina of the Katipunan Party.
For the vice gubernatorial post, incumbent Vice Gov. Florence Tingbaoen (Lakas CMD) will seek re-election for his second term and outgoing Board Member Johnny Waguis under PDP-Laban.
For congressman, former Gov. Nestor Fongwan of the PDP-Laban will run against incumbent Mankayan Mayor Materno Luspian of the LAKAS CMD and independent candidate Keith Thorrsson.
In Ifugao, Congressman Teodoro Baguilat Jr. will return try to return as Governor under the Liberal Party and will run against Vice Governor Jose Jordan Gullitiw of PDP Laban and incumbent Banaue Mayor Jerry Dalipog of the NUP.
For Vice Governor, former vice gov. and incumbent Alfonsolista Mayor Glenn Prudenciano of the LP will run against incumbent board member Victor Bunnol Jr. of the PFP and James Dulnuan of PDP LABAN.
For the congressional seat, incumbent Gov. Pedro Mayam-o will run as an independent candidate against former Cong. Solomon Chungalao of NPC, former Gov. Eugene Balitang of Laban ng Demokratikong Pilipino, former Kiangan Mayor Jonathan Cuyahon and former DOTr Director Siegfreid Mondiguing of PDP LABAN.
In Kalinga, it will be a battle between incumbent Congressman Jesse Allen Mangaoang of the Nacionalista Party and incumbent Gov. Jocel Baac of PDP LABAN for the congressional lone district of Kalinga.
For the gubernatorial post, it will be contested by Vice Gov. James Edduba of the LAKAS CMD, Tabuk City Mayor Ferdinand Tubban of PDP LABAN, former military officer Conrado Dieza of thee PFP and independent candidate Loreto Banasan.
For the vice governor, it will be between Danzel Michael Langkit of the LP, Dave Odiem of the Nacionalista Party and Antonio Bakilan and Dwahgan Claver both of the PDP LABAN.
In Mountain Province, incumbent Governor Bonifacio Lacwasan of PDP LABAN will run against Natonin Mayor Mateo Chiyawan of LP, independent candidate former Sagada Mayor Eduardo Latawan, Antonio Grupo of the Aksyon Demokratiko, Magellan Limliman of the Democratic Party of the Philippines and independent candidate Harry Dominguez.
For vice governor, it would be a three-way fight between incumbent Vice Gov. Francis Tauli of PDP LABAN, Ezra Gomez of LDP and independent candidate Raul Lapon.
For the congressional post, it would be an open battle between the son of former Cong. Maximo Dalog Sr, Maximo Dalog Jr. of the Nacionalista Party, incumbent Tadian Mayor Anthony Wooden of the PDP LABAN, former provincial police director Allen Ocden of PFP, Jonathan Harder of the People’s Reform Party, and independent candidates Avelino Amangyen, Jupiter Dominguez and Albert Paday-os.
In Baguio City, re-electionist Cong. Mark Go of the Nacionalista Party will run against former Cong. Nicasio Aliping Jr. of the Liberal Party (LP), former city Mayor Reinaldo Bautista of the LAKAS CMD, incumbent Mayor Mauricio Domogan of the United Nationalist Alliance (UNA) and Rafael Wasan under the Pederaslimo ng Dugong Dakilang Samahan-Democratic Party of the Philippines (PDDS-DPP.)
For city mayor candidatres are City Councilor Leandro Yangot of the Partido Federal ng Pilipinas (PFP), Councilor Edgar Avila of the UNA retired police general Benjamin Magalong of the Nationalista People’s Coalition (NPC), former Councilor Jose Molintas of the LP, former Councilor Antonio “Tony Boy” Tabora Jr. of the Lakas CMD, and independent candidate Benedicto Alhambra.
Incumbent Vice Mayor Edison Bilog and former barangay kagawad Labio Calingayan both filed their COCs under the PDP-LABAN for the mayoralty post.
For vice mayor, four incumbent city councilors will run, namely, lawyer Elmer Datuin of the UNA, Engr. Michael Lawana of the PFP, lawyer Faustino Olowan of the PDP-Laban and lawyer Peter Fianza who is running as independent. Other bets include human rights lawyer Rene Cortes of the Liberal Party and independent candidate Felizardo Garcia.
In Apayao, most of the positions are uncontested from the congressional seat down to the gubernatorial to the mayoralty and even to the municipal councils.
Last termer Congresswoman Eleanor Begtang who is under the PDP LABAN will run as governor while his younger brother Gov. Elias Bulut Jr. who si under the NPC will go back to the House of Representatives.
Vice-Governor Remy Albano of the LP is also unopposed for the same position as well as the eight candidates for Sangguniang Panlalawigan, namely, Shirley Romero, Tolentino Mangalao, Anton Louie Talimbatog and incumbent PCL President Samuela Real of the 1st District and Mailah Haylee Ballesteros, Emiliano Galleon, Elmer Molina and Mcleen Julian for the 2nd District. **PIA-CAR

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

six − one =