IFSU hosts 17th Reg’l Student Nurses congress


Ifugao State University (IFSU), through the College of Health Sciences (CHS), hosted the 17th Regional Student Nurses Congress today, March 22, 2024, at the Luis Hora Gymnasium, Lamut Campus. The event brought together nurses, healthcare professionals, and nursing students from 14 higher education institutions belonging to the Cordillera Association of Nursing Deans (CAND).
Bannering the theme “University in Diversity: Navigating and Advancing Transcultural Nursing for Health Equity,” the congress served as a platform to address the pressing need for inclusivity and cultural sensitivity in healthcare delivery. Organized annually by the CAND, this year marked the first time IFSU hosted the event in the region.
IFSU President Dr. Eva Marie Codamon-Dugyon, in her Welcome Remarks, acknowledged the important role of nurses and healthcare professionals in bridging cultural divides to ensure universal access to quality healthcare. She emphasized the congress’ alignment with the United Nations’ Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), particularly SDG 3 on Good Health and Well-being, SDG 4 on Quality Education, and SDG 16 on Peace, Justice, and Strong Institutions. She further emphasized the importance of collaboration, communication, and respect in building a more equitable healthcare system.
The event featured two speakers: Dr. Florence C. Cawaon, Former Member of the Philippine Regulatory Board of Nursing, and Dr. Norenia T. Dao-ayen, Former Associate Dean of Saint Louis University.
Dr. Cawaon led a session on Cultural Competence and Complexities of Transcultural Nursing, while Dr. Dao-ayen discussed perspectives on Health Equity. Both speakers shed light on strategies to ensure fair and just healthcare access for all. Open forum sessions followed each presentation.
The 14 member institutions of the Cordillera Association of Nursing Deans are Abra Valley Colleges, Baguio Central University, Benguet State University, Cordillera Career and Development College, Divine Word College of Bangued, Easter College Inc., Ifugao State University, Mountain Province State Polytechnic College, Pines City Colleges, Saint Louis University, Saint Tonis College, Inc., Star Colleges, Inc., University of Baguio, and University of the Cordilleras.**By Elvira M. Matabye-Binohlan


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

19 + sixteen =