Provincial history book launched on MP Foundation Day

Governor Bonifacio Lacwasan affirms his message on the Provincial History Book during its launching. **

BONTOC, Mtn. Province – The writing of the latest history book on the province has been launched last April 7, 2021 during the 54th MP Day Commemoration Program.
The book titled Mountain Province: Then and Now is a sequel to the similar history book published in 2010 during the term of the late governor Maximo Dalog entitled The New Mountain Province.
The new book chronicles the political history of the province from 1967 when it became a separate and distinct province from the old Mountain Province up to 2020, while the former dealt with the Hispanic, American, and Japanese periods up to 2010 but did not include the political structures.
Lists of former municipal mayors, past governors, and previous congressmen are included in the book that is expected to be out within the year. The current officials banner their programs and projects which they furnished for the book.
Accomplishments of the political leaders will also be recounted as researched and written by employee writers assigned per municipality, and for the province.
Photos of the leaders will also be included.
Angel Baybay of the Provincial Information Office (PIO) is responsible for the municipalities of Sagada and Besao; Judith Bangaan of the Provincial Planning and Development Office (PPDO) for Sabangan; Jeanette Billod of the Provincial Legal Office (PLO) for Bauko; this writer and Bentor Ganado of the Provincial Tourism Office for the municipality of Tadian; Bendahara Beau Macliing of the PIO for Bontoc; Alfred Macalling of the Provincial Treasury Office (PTO) for Sadanga, and this writer for the municipalities of Barlig, Natonin, and Paracelis.
All the municipal profiles and their histories are being subjected to validation by the Municipal Planning and Development Coordinators and municipal mayors before finalization and printing.
For the province, writers were assigned per administration including their accomplishments and those of congressmen.
Erlindo Agwilang, a staff of the Congressional District Office (CDO), researched and wrote for the first congressman Luis Hora to current Congressman Maxi Dalog, Jr.
This writer researched and wrote the salient accomplishments of past governors Alfredo Lamen, Jaime Gomez, Binky Lamen, Sario Malinias, OIC governor John Likigan, and former governor Maximo Dalog, Sr.
Venus Padayao of the Provincial Administrator’s Office for Roy Pilando and Saturnino Moldero; Winston Calde for OIC governors Nicasio Aliping and Modesto Calde; Darwin Kimakim wrote for former governor Leonard Mayaen; and Atty. Michael Patting wrote for incumbent governor Bonifacio Lacwasan, Jr.
During the program, Lacwasan heaped appreciation for the initiative of the Provincial Historical Committee chaired by this writer to document and update the history of the province.
“We will be leaving another legacy to our children. I strongly believe that history books always remind our children to remember where they came from”, said Governor Lacwasan.**Roger Sacyaten

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

two + 20 =